Sheppard, Marginas Capture All-Sun Belt Honors

(11/14/01) North Texas sophomore Kristin Sheppard was named Newcomer of the Year and fellow sophomore Corina Marginas captured unanimous first team all-conference honors in volleyball awards announced by the Sun Belt Conference at the league's post-season tournament in Denver.

Marginas, the conference leader in kills and already North Texas' all-time career leader in just two seasons, was one of six players who were unanimously voted to the eight-player first team by the league's coaches.

Sheppard, the only other member of the Lady Eagles to receive all-SBC recognition, earned the league's Newcomer of the Year after transferring to North Texas from Baylor. Sheppard, who sat out the 2000 season after changing schools, averaged 1.25 kills, 10.34 sets, 2.28 digs and 0.51 blocks for the Lady Eagles this season.

An outside hitter from Brasov, Romania, Marginas, who was named Freshman of the Year in the Sun Belt last year, earned her second straight first-team all-conference recognition after becoming just the second player in North Texas volleyball history to record 1,000 or more kills in a career. She set a new school record in career kills last week by running her total to 1,021.

2001 All-Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Team

First Team
Natalie Furry, Western Kentucky
Nirvana Kos, Florida International
Clarice Laires, UL Lafayette
Corina Marginas, North Texas
Sara Noe, Western Kentucky
Jelena Roadovanovic, Arkansas-Little Rock
Tara Thomas, Western Kentucky
Kristin Webster, New Mexico State

Second Team
Marijana Bego, Arkansas-Little Rock
Janaina Gornes, UL Lafayette
Angela Lobendahn-Peterson, New Mexico State
Ann MacMillan, New Orleans
Morgan Reader, New Mexico State
Kellie Savage, Denver
Katie Silliman, Arkansas State
Jessica Willard, Western Kentucky

Player of the Year -- Kristin Webster, New Mexico State
Defensive Player of the Year -- Tara Thomas, Western Kentucky
Newcomer of the Year -- Kristin Sheppard, North Texas
Freshman of the Year -- Shakeithia Deckard, Middle Tennessee
Coach of the Year -- Cookie Stevens, Florida International



more headlines

Mean Green Online Store

Official Merchandise of Mean Green Athletics