North Texas Celebrates Year's Best At Scrappys

Male Student-Athlete Of The Year Mason Fine
Male Student-Athlete Of The Year Mason Fine
April 30, 2018

DENTON - North Texas student-athletes, coaches and staff celebrated Mean Green achievements in athletics, academics and community service at the second annual The Scrappys ceremony Monday night at the Union Ballroom.

The event was highlighted by a banquet and the recognition of the best performances of 2017-18 as voted by coaches, administrators and Mean Green fans.

The Female Student-Athlete of the Year was Dominique James of the Conference USA champion UNT soccer team. James, a junior defender from Fort Worth, was first-team All-C-USA, first-team C-USA All-Academic, and was the C-USA Tournament Defensive MVP.

The Male Student-Athlete of the Year award went to Mason Fine of the C-USA West Division champion Mean Green football team. Fine, a sophomore quarterback from Peggs, Oklahoma, set school records in 2017 by completing 324 of 511 passes for 4,052 yards and 31 touchdowns, and was named Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year and a first-team all-conference selection.

Here is a list of all of the award winners and team most valuable players:

Highest Team GPA, Fall 2017 Volleyball
Highest Team GPA, Spring 2018 Volleyball
Male Newcomer of the Year Roosevelt Smart
Female Newcomer of the Year Katie Clark
Individual Performance of the Year Taylor Torres
Team Moment Football "The Drive"
Team of the Year Soccer
Female Student-Athlete of the Year Dominique James
Male Student-Athlete of the Year Mason Fine
Men's Basketball MVP Roosevelt Smart
Women's Basketball MVP Terriell Bradley
Men's Cross Country MVP Mike Lowe
Women's Cross Country MVP Susannah Lynch
Football MVP Mason Fine
Men's Golf MVP Ian Snyman
Women's Golf MVP Lauren Cox
Soccer MVP Dominique James
Softball MVP Nicole Ochotnicki
Swimming and Diving MVP Isabelle Morris
Men's Track and Field MVP Javier Lopez-Ibarra
Women's Track and Field MVP Breanna Eckels
Tennis MVP Maria Kononova
Volleyball MVP Holly Milam
Cheer MVP Illyssa Mathis
Dance MVP Cailey Ursin
Mascot MVP Max Neuroth



North Texas Mean Green