Two North Texas Athletes Receive C-USA Scholar Athlete Awards

July 14, 2017

IRVING - Two North Texas student-athletes were named to the Conference USA Scholar Athlete awards list, the conference office announced Friday.

The Mean Green came away with two Scholar Athletes of the Year in men’s golf’s Cory Churchman and swimming & diving’s Samantha Scheck. North Texas has had at least one scholar-athlete recognized by the conference since it joined in 2013-14.

Churchman, who graduated in May 2017, had a 3.59 GPA in finance, finished tied for second on the men’s golf team with a 73.45 scoring average and finished second team all-conference. Churchman finished tied for second at the C-USA championship with a three-round score of 216 (68, 75, 73). He posted three top-10 finishes and fired a season-low 68 twice, including the first round at the conference championship.

Scheck, who also graduated this past May, had a 3.94 GPA in kinesiology and finished 10th in the one-meter dive at the C-USA Championship. Scheck took 12th place in the three-meter dive at the conference championships and recorded three victories on the year across the two events.

Scholar-athletes were selected from C-USA’s full-time and affiliate institutions in 19 sports (combining indoor and outdoor track & field). Marshall led the way with four student-athletes receiving the Scholar Athlete Award, followed closely by North Texas with three representatives. Please see below for the complete list:

2016-17 C-USA Scholar Athlete Award Winners:

Baseball – Kirk McCarty, Southern Miss
Men’s Basketball – Austin Loop, Marshall
Women’s Basketball - Kendall Noble, WKU*
Men’s Cross Country – Will Shaffer, Marshall
Women’s Cross Country – Elsa Racasan, Rice
Football – Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee
Men’s Golf – Cory Churchman, North Texas*
Women’s Golf – Nikki Long, UTSA
Men’s Soccer – Charlie Reymann, Kentucky #
Women’s Soccer – Kathryn Sloan, Louisiana Tech
Softball – Haley Pace, Charlotte
Women’s Swimming & Diving – Samantha Scheck, North Texas
Men’s Tennis – Tommy Bennett, Rice
Women’s Tennis - Katherine Ip, Rice*
Men’s Track and Field – Sampson Laari, Middle Tennessee
Women’s Track and Field – Ayane Rossano, Rice
Volleyball - Ally Kiekover, Marshall*

* Repeat winner
# Affiliate member



North Texas Mean Green