Garcia-Meitin, Hale Earn Team MVP At Swimming Banquet

DENTON, Texas (4/26/08) The Mean Green swimming and diving team celebrated its record-breaking 2007-08 season at the North Texas Swimming and Diving Banquet Saturday night.

Bonnie Garcia-Meitin and Alicia Hale were co-recipients of the Most Valuable Swimmer. Garcia-Meitin and Hale became the first two swimmers in Mean Green history to tally an NCAA consideration cut.  

In just his second season, head coach Joe Dykstra was honored as the Sun Belt Conference Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year. Dykstra helped guide the Mean Green to a fourth place finish at the Sun Belt Championships while breaking every swimming school record during the three-day event.

In all, North Texas picked up all-conference honors in seven different events; the most ever in the program’s ten-year history.

The Mean Green will have 17 swimmers and two divers returning next season to make a run at its first Sun Belt Conference Championship.

North Texas Swimming Awards
Most Valuable: Alicia Hale & Bonnie Garcia-Meitin
Most Improved: Jessica Wellington & Emily Floyd
Most Inspirational: Hannah Bakke
Hardest Worker: Kelly Gordon & Christina Hammervold
08-09 Captains: Taryne Cantillo & Nicki Leslie
Outstanding Diver: Whitney Tyrone




North Texas Mean Green