Swimming & Diving Team Honored At Annual Banquet

DENTON, Texas (4/18/09) - The North Texas swimming & diving team held its annual awards banquet on Saturday night celebrating a memorable 2008-09 season including the best Sun Belt Conference finish in program history, 14 school records in 19 swimming events, and a No. 14 Mid-Major Poll final ranking.

Sixteen swimmers and divers who earned academic honors during the fall were the first to be recognized. The Athletic Director's list (3.0-3.49) featured Emily Cardone-Dennis, Delia Covo, Rosa Gentile, Dawn Richerson, and Danae Welch. Making the Dean's List (3.5-3.99) were Rosita Bado, Angie Dworschack, Leanne Hill, Kim Nelson-Wulff, and Brandi Townsend. The final six honored for the prestigious President's List (perfect 4.0) were Madison Fleming, Kelly Gordon, Carleigh Kutac, Hillary Riedmann, Erika Roach, and Kristen Tuttle.

Nicole Leslie and Laura Littleton were announced as the 2009-10 team captains. Leslie served as a captain for the 2008-09 team.

Five more important awards were given out: Hardest Worker (Angie Dworschack), Most Improved (Hillary Riedmann), Most Inspirational (Laura Littleton), Outstanding Diver (Delia Covo), and Most Valuable (Emily Floyd, Rosa Gentile).    

Sixteen team members also became first-time letterwinners: Stephanie Bernier, Chelsea Bolton, Emily Cardone-Dennis, Delia Covo, Madison Fleming, Rosa Gentile, Leanne Hill, Lauren Hudson, Carleigh Kutac, Seabre Pope, Dawn Richerson, Hillary Riedmann, Erika Roach, Sarah Standlee, Brandi Townsend, and Danae Welch.

Lastly, there was the Senior Recognition from the only senior on the '08-09 squad, Taryne Cantillo. Taryne talked about her time at North Texas and showed much appreciation to those who have helped her become a better person.        


North Texas Mean Green