Dykstra Named Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year

Full Results
Day Two Recap

Day One Recap

DAY THREE: SBC Championships

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (3/1/08) The University of North Texas closed out its season with a fourth place finish Saturday at the Sun Belt Championships in Nashville, Tenn.


Head coach Joe Dykstra was honored as the Sun Belt Conference Women's Swimming Coach of the Year following a season in which North Texas set school records in all 19 swimming events.


“It’s very much a tribute to the girls and Maya Nikolova (UNT assistant coach),” Dykstra said about the honor. “All I can do is provide a solid foundation. The girls are the ones that have to do all the work.”  


The 549 points are the most ever by a North Texas squad during the SBC Championships. In total, the Mean Green picked up all-conference performances in seven different events; the most in the program’s ten-year history.


Bonnie Garcia-Meitin tallied a second place finish in the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 1:59.14, good for an NCAA B’ consideration and a new school record. Garcia-Meitin joins Alicia Hale as the only two North Texas swimmers to make the NCAA cut.


The Mean Green 400 relay team of Elizabeth Weiss, Nicki Leslie, Emily Floyd and Alicia Hale earned all-conference honors with a third place finish, clocking in with a time of 3:28.27. The mark is more than two seconds faster than the previous school record.


Floyd (1650 free), Weiss (100 free), Leslie (100 free), Hale (100 free), Rosita Bado (200 back) and Hannah Bakke (200 breaststroke) all earned top eight finishes for the Mean Green in their respective events.


“Last year we established ourselves as a good team. And then this year, we competed on a national stage, posting two NCAA consideration cuts,” Dykstra said. “I think we’ll definitely be in the conversation for one of the teams to possibly vie for the conference title next season.


The SBC Championships was the end the swimming career for eight Mean Green seniors. North Texas will have 18 swimmers and two divers returning next season.


Hannah Bakke:
 100 breaststroke (3rd), 400 medley relay (3rd)

Taryne Cantillo: 400 medley relay (3rd)

Emily Floyd: 500 free (3rd), 400 free relay (3rd)

Bonnie Garcia-Meitin: 200 back (2nd), 200 free relay (3rd), 400 medley relay (3rd)

Alicia Hale: 200 free (2nd), 400 medley relay (3rd), 400 free relay (3rd)

Nicki Leslie: 200 free relay (3rd), 400 free relay (3rd)

Amanda Neal: 200 free relay (3rd)

Elizabeth Weiss: 200 free relay (3rd), 400 free relay (3rd)



North Texas Mean Green