North Texas Tabbed 10th In C-USA Softball Preseason Poll

Jan. 20, 2016

IRVING, Texas — The 2016 Conference USA softball preseason poll and preseason team were announced on Wednesday. North Texas garnered 41 points and was picked to finish 10th as selected by the league’s 12 head coaches.

The Mean Green finished the 2015 season with a 19-31 overall record and 11-12 C-USA record, finishing in seventh place in the regular season standings and advancing to the Conference USA Tournament for the second straight season.

They return four letterwinners from this past season in junior pitcher Stacey Underwood, junior infielder Kelli Schkade, senior catcher Bryana Wade and senior infielder Karly Williams and add 11 newcomers to this year’s team.

Florida Atlantic, with nine first-place votes and 141 of a maximum 144 points, was tabbed as the favorite to win the league. Marshall (128 points), UAB (121 points) and UTSA (106 points) round out the top four of the preseason poll. UAB senior infielder Caitlin Attfield was selected as preseason player of the year, while FAU junior Kylee Hanson was selected as preseason pitcher of the year.

North Texas opens the 2016 season on Friday, Feb. 12, when they play host Arizona in the first of five games in three days at the Hillenbrand Invitational in Tucson, Arizona. The Mean Green will host the North Texas Invitational for its first home games of the season, starting with a matchup against Sam Houston State on Saturday, Feb. 27.

2016 C-USA Softball Preseason Team
P – Kylee Hanson, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
P – Jordan Dixon, Marshall, Jr.
P – Lexi Betancourt, Charlotte, Sr.
C – Krysta Tutsch, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
C – Morgan Harris, Middle Tennessee, So.
IF – Caitlin Attfield, UAB, Sr.
IF – Stephanie Texeira, FIU, Jr.
IF – Sara Beth Williamson, UAB, Sr.
IF – Emily Lochten, Florida Atlantic, So.
IF – Elicia D'Orazio, Marshall, So.
OF – Morgan Zerkle, Marshall, Jr.
OF – Kendall Burton, UTSA, So.
OF – Kaelynn Greene, Marshall, Sr.
OF – Christina Martinez, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
DP/UT – Kawehiokalani Netane, UTEP, Sr.

2016 Preseason Player of the Year
Caitlin Attfield, UAB, Sr.

2016 Preseason Pitcher of the Year
Kylee Hanson, Florida Atlantic, Jr.

2016 Preseason Coaches Poll
1. Florida Atlantic (9 first-place votes)
2. Marshall (2)
3. UAB
4. UTSA (1)
5. Louisiana Tech
6. FIU
7. Charlotte
8. WKU
10. North Texas
11. Middle Tennessee
12. Southern Miss



North Texas Mean Green