Mean Green Soccer Has Four Players Named All-Conference

DENTON, Texas (11-04-08) For the sixth straight year the North Texas soccer team has placed three or more players on the All-Sun Belt team. Freshman Kelsey Perlman and juniors Kendall Juett and Kelli Lunsford were named to the first-team all-conference while senior Veronica Ayala was named to the second-team.

Perlman has been the offensive catalyst all season long for the Mean Green and leads the team in goals (11), points (26) and is tied with Lunsford for the team lead with four assists.

Lunsford is named to the team one season after tearing her ACL and cutting short her 2007 season. The defender has also been one of the team’s top scorers and is second on the team in goals (6), points (16) and tied for the team lead with four assists and three game-winning goals.

Juett was named to her third consecutive first-team selection and has scored five goals and dished out three assists. She leads the team with 61 shots and is tied with Lunsford for the team-lead with three game-winning goals.

Ayala, who is in her senior season, has scored four goals in 2008, two of which have been game-winners. She also has two assists for a total of 10 points.

Taryn Hemmings of Denver was named the Player of the Year for the second straight season and Shan Jones of Middle Tennessee was the Freshman of the Year.

Both Thomas Chestnutt of FIU and Jeff Hooker of Denver shared the Coach of the Year honors.

First Team All-Sun Belt
- F Taryn Hemmings (Denver, Sr.)
- F Shan Jones (Middle Tennessee, Fr.)
- F Kelsey Perlman (North Texas, Fr.)
- MF Kendall Juett (North Texas, Jr.)
- MF Lizzy Carlson (Denver, Jr.)
- MF Kellie Walker (Western Kentucky, Jr.)
- D Morgan Thomas (Western Kentucky, Jr.)
- D Kellie Lunsford (North Texas, Jr.)
- D Rachel Friedman (Western Kentucky, Jr.)
- D Jessi Keller (Denver, Sr.)
-GK Libby Stout (Western Kentucky, Fr.)

Second Team All-Sun Belt
- F Brandi Smith (South Alabama, Fr.)
- F Ashley Mannarino (Florida Atlantic, Jr.)
- F Kristin Cocchiarella (Western Kentucky, Sr.)
- MF Vanessa Mueggler (Middle Tennessee, So.)
- MF Jannica Tjeder (Florida Atlantic, Sr.)
- MF Veronica Ayala (North Texas, Sr.)
- MF Bria Beardsley (Denver, Fr.)
- MF Kelly Tarrant (South Alabama, Sr.)
- D Fran Howells (Middle Tennessee, So.)
- D Carrie Blankenbuhler (Denver, Sr.)
- D Katrina Rose (Florida International, Fr.)
- GK Mackenzie Snyder (Denver, Jr.)

Player of the Year: Taryn Hemmings (Denver, Sr.)

Newcomer of the Year: Laura Hyvonen (Florida Atlantic, So.)

Freshman of the Year: Shan Jones (Middle Tennessee, Fr.)

Coach of the Year: Thomas Chestnutt (Florida International), Jeff Hooker (Denver)


North Texas Mean Green