Three Soccer Players Named All-Sun Belt

DENTON, Texas (11/03/09) - For a seventh straight year the North Texas soccer team placed at least three players on the All-Sun Belt teams. Senior midfielder Kendall Juett and senior defender Kelli Lunsford were named to the first-team All-Sun Belt while freshman forward Michelle Young was named to the second team.

Juett, who was named the Sun Belt Preseason Player of the Year for a second straight season, makes her fourth straight appearance on the first-team (2006-09). In her last season as a member of the Mean Green Juett played and started in all 19 games while contributing four goals and a team-high six assists. Her 14 points were second only to Young and she was third on the team with 42 shots, 21 of which were on goal.

Juett also became the school's all-time leader in games played and started in a career with 94.

Lunsford was named to the first-team for the third time in her career and did so after moving back to a defender. The Highland Village, Texas native played in 18 games in 2009, recorded one assist and fired 30 shots. However, it was her impact on one of the conference's best defenses where Lunsford really shined.

Young, a graduate of Poteet High School, led the team with eight goals and 16 points. She played in 18 games and was second on the team with 44 shots. Most importantly, Young had three game-winning goals, including both goals in a win at home over Baylor.

Kellie Walker of Western Kentucky was named the Player of the Year while FIU goalkeeper Kaitlyn Savage was selected the Freshman of the Year.

Thomas Chestnutt of the regular season champion FIU Golden Panthers was named the Sun Belt Coach of the Year for a second straight season.

First Team All-Sun Belt
Christina Veasley (UALR, Sophomore, Forward)
Kaitlin Bast (Denver, Freshman, Forward)
Shan Jones (Middle Tennessee, Sophomore, Forward)
Mallory Outerbridge (WKU, Sophomore, Forward)
Mariah Johnston (Denver, Senior, Midfielder)
Kendall Juett (North Texas, Senior, Midfielder)
Kellie Walker (WKU, Senior, Midfielder)
Katrina Rose (FIU, Sophomore, Defense)
Kelli Lunsford (North Texas, Senior, Defense)
Rachel Friedman (WKU, Senior, Defense)
Libby Stout (WKU, Sophomore, Goalkeeper)

Second Team All-Sun Belt
Thaisa Moreno (FIU, Sophomore, Forward)
Michelle Young (North Texas, Freshman, Forward)
Kaylyn Pratt (WKU, Sophomore, Forward)
Bria Beardsley (Denver, Sophomore, Midfielder)
Lizzy Carlson (Denver, Senior, Midfielder)
Amy Jackson (FIU, Senior, Midfielder)
Vanessa Mueggler (Middle Tennessee, Junior, Midfielder)
Jessie Rogers (Denver, Junior, Defense)
Raydan Phillips (ULM, Senior, Defense)
Morgan Thomas (WKU, Senior, Defense)
Kaitlyn Savage (FIU, Freshman, Goalkeeper)

Player of the Year
Kellie Walker (WKU, Senior, Midfielder)

Freshman of the Year
Kaitlyn Savage (FIU, Freshman, Goalkeeper)

Coach of the Year
Thomas Chestnutt (FIU)



North Texas Mean Green