Nine Conference Championships

John Hedlund has coached the Mean Green to 20 winning seasons.
July 30, 2015

With the majority of its team coming back after a record-breaking season in 2014, the North Texas soccer program is poised to make a run for its 10th conference championship in school history.

Every Thursday during the summer, is going look back at all nine conference championships. This week, we look at the final conference championship team.

The 2013 season began a new era for the Mean Green. It was the first year in Conference USA for all North Texas sports. The mission had not changed for Mean Green soccer. There was a winning tradition to uphold no matter what conference the team was in.

Three road conference losses to Rice, Colorado College and UAB moved the Mean Green out of contention for the regular-season title. North Texas entered the conference tournament having won five of its last six games. The Mean Green defeated FIU, 4-1, and then needed two overtime periods to defeat Charlotte to advance to the championship game for the second straight year.

For the second time that season, North Texas could not find the winning formula against Colorado College, falling 3-0.

With most of its team intact, North Texas looked towards 2014 for another championship. The 2014 season proved to be a very special season for the Mean Green. The program was entering its 20th season of existence. It was also head coach John Hedlund’s 20th season at North Texas. He was aiming for 20 straight winning seasons.

North Texas did not just win. Under the helm of John Hedlund, the Mean Green tied a program record with 16 victories and captured its ninth conference championship by winning the Conference USA regular season title.

North Texas lost one game in conference play, en route to winning the regular season outright with an 8-1-1 record. North Texas entered the conference tournament as the No. 1 seed and shut out its first two opponents. The final set up a match between the top two teams: the Mean Green and No. 2 Rice. The two teams had recorded a 1-1 tie in their regular-season match-up.

For the second year in a row, the Mean Green came up just short in the finals. North Texas was not able to find the back of the net against the Owls. Rice came up with two goals against the Mean Green to win the tournament title.

Although the Mean Green came up short in its quest to return to the NCAA Tournament, the team achieved a long list of accomplishments. The squad was led by a few players who had breakout seasons.

Jackie Kerestine and Karla Pineda were named to the all-region team for the first time in their careers. Rachel Holden joined the duo on the all-conference team. Tess Graham and Molly Grisham were named to the all-conference tournament team.

With all but one starter returning, North Texas has its sights set on its 10th conference title in 2015. The Mean Green opens its seaso in Las Vegas with games against Southern Utah and UNLV. North Texas opens its home season against Kansas on August 30.

Nine Conference Championships
2001 Regular-Season Title
2004 Regular-Season Title
2004 Conference Tournament Title
2005 Regular-Season Title
2005 Conference Tournament Title
2011 Regular-Season Title
2012 Reguar-Season Title
2012 Conference Tournament Title



North Texas Mean Green