2017 Conference USA soccer champions

History of Mean Green Soccer

Since the program's birth in 1995, Mean Green soccer has never had a losing season and has collected 13 conference championships - five in the last four years. North Texas' 23-year combined record stands at 328-124-31, a .711 winning percentage.

Having established himself as one of the most prominent coaches in the Central Region, John Hedlund has molded the Mean Green soccer program into one of the nation's elite. The only head coach in program history, Hedlund's 328 career wins rank him 19th all-time among Division I head coaches. Only Anson Dorrance (North Carolina, 38 years) and G Guerrieri (Texas A&M, 24 years) have active streaks of more winning seasons at one school.

On Aug. 19, 2016, Hedlund became the 20th NCAA Division I women's soccer coach to reach 300 career wins with a season-opening 4-0 victory against Incarnate Word.

In year 23, the winning tradition continued as North Texas put together one of the best offensive and defensive seasons in the country and rallied in the 2017 C-USA Conference Tournament to win the program's 13th league title. Three Mean Green student-athletes, all underclassmen, were named all-conference and North Texas extended its home conference match unbeaten streak to 41-0-3.

In his 22nd season, Hedlund started the season by capturing his 300th career win and finished it by capturing the Mean Green's third straight Conference USA regular-season conference title. The Mean Green went 9-1 in conference play, only the second time that a North Texas team has won nine league games. North Texas earned the No. 1 seed in the Conference USA Championship but ultimately lost in the semifinals.

Hedlund is the winningest coach in any sport in the history of North Texas athletics. His 12 conference championships leads all North Texas sports in the recent era.

The 2015 season might go down as the best team in program history. The Mean Green won a school-record 19 games en route to winning back-to-back regular season titles. The team won its first Conference USA tournament championship and advanced to the NCAA tournament for the fourth time in school history. The 2015 team was ranked as high as No. 3 in the central region and received votes in the national poll throughout the season.

Hedlund guided the program into the Conference USA era in 2013 and earned the league's No. 2 seed and a trip to the C-USA title game. He followed that with two more trips to the championship game. It took three tries but the Mean Green finally won its first Conference USA Championship in 2015.

The 2014 team tied a then program record with 16 wins, set a single-season record with 14 shutouts and claimed its ninth conference championship with the regular-season title.

North Texas has advanced to the NCAA Tournament four times, in 2004, 2005, 2012 and 2015. Only five Division I schools in Texas (of 20) have more NCAA Tournament appearances. In C-USA, only Charlotte has more tourney bids.

Since the Mean Green Soccer Complex opened in 2006, North Texas is a gaudy 90-13-6 (84 percent) at home.

In 13 years in the Sun Belt, North Texas advanced to at least the semifinals of the league tournament 12 times, made nine finals appearances, and won three SBC Tournament championships.

Hedlund has coached 76 all-conference players since 1999, including the 2015 C-USA Co-Offensive Player of the Year and Midfielder of the Year. His players have won three Sun Belt Player of the Year awards and four Sun Belt Freshmen of the Year awards. In the three years in Conference USA, Hedlund has coached two offensive players of the year, one defensive, midfielder and freshman players of the year.

He won three Sun Belt Coach of the Year awards, and has been recognized as the North Texas Coach of the Year by the Dallas Morning News and the Dallas All Sports Association, and the Greater Denton Sports Commission two years in a row.

North Texas boasts three players who have been named freshman All-America: Christy Johnson (third team, 1997), Gina Turner (honorable mention, 1998) and Marilyn Marin (first team, 2000).

Mean Green players have accounted for 20 All-Central Region team selections.

Heather Hutyra became the youngest player in the Sun Belt Conference to earn Player of the Year honors as a sophomore in 2005, and she was inducted to the North Texas Athletics Hall of Fame in 2013.

North Texas has been awarded conference freshman of the year honors five times. The latest recipient was Rachel Holden in 2013 after a 12-goal campaign. Janaye Woods won in 2007, Kelli Lunsford received the award in 2005, Heather Hutyra was named freshman of the year in 2004, and Marin received the honor in 2000.

Kendall Juett (2006-09) became the second player in school history to be named first-team all-conference all four years, joining two-time Sun Belt Player of the Year Marin.

The 2004 squad set a school record with 16 wins and its first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament after capturing the program's first Sun Belt Conference Tournament Championship.

The 2003 squad tied a then school record with 15 wins and went a perfect 11-0 at home. The undefeated season at home was the first since 2001 and the third in the program's history.

Marin became the first North Texas player to win back-to-back Player of the Year honors in the Sun Belt Conference. She was also named to the first-team all-conference squad for a fourth straight year.

In 2002, North Texas was second in the nation in goals per game and forward Marin, who led the nation in goals, points, and points per game, was named the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year.

In 2001, the Mean Green captured its first Sun Belt Conference regular-season championship in just the second year of the league sponsoring women's soccer. North Texas went a perfect 5-0 at home against Sun Belt opponents en route to a unblemished 7-0 home record.

In 2002, the Mean Green set a school record with 13 consecutive wins at home and a 24-game unbeaten streak at home.

North Texas Mean Green