Bradley, Holmes Earn All-Conference Honors

March 5, 2018

IRVING — The Mean Green women’s basketball team earned two postseason all-conference honors this season.

Redshirt junior Terriell Bradley was voted Conference USA All-Conference First-Team and freshman Lauren Holmes was voted to the C-USA All-Freshman team.

Bradley is just the third North Texas women’s basketball player to earn a first-team all-conference honor in the last 15 years and is the first since Amber Jackson in 2009.

Bradley and Holmes have guided the Mean Green to their first winning season in 12 years and given fans plenty of exciting moments.

Bradley leads the team in scoring, averaging 18.8 points per game and also leads the team in rebounding, averaging 5.6 rebounds per game. Her 527 points scored this season are the fourth-most in a single season in program history and the most since Mitchell scored 562 in the 2001-02 season. She’s made 148 free throws, a school-record, and her 51 3-pointers are the ninth most in a single season.

In conference play, Bradley has led C-USA in 3-point field goal percentage, shooting over 50 percent for a majority of the season.

Bradley, a two-time C-USA Player of the Week winner this year, set a school and conference record on Feb. 8, by making nine consecutive 3-pointers at FIU in a 46-point win, the largest road victory in school history. She finished that game with a career-high 32 points, a school-record nine made 3-pointers and also scored her 1,000th career point in the process.

Bradley single-handily won the team’s game at Eastern Illinois in the non-conference schedule. Bradley played all 45 minutes of the overtime game and made the game-tying layup to send the game into overtime and then hit the game-winning jumper at the buzzer to win the game.



At Indiana, Bradley recorded her third career double-double and in her postgame interview, Hoosiers’ head coach Teri Moren praised Bradley and called her “a special player." 

Bradley has led the Mean Green in scoring 23 times this year, but right on her tail has been the freshman Holmes who is averaging 8.9 points and 4.7 rebounds per game and is one of the best defenders in the conference.

Holmes burst on to the scene with a record-setting performance. Holmes scored 20 points and had 10 rebounds in the season-opener. The 20 points are the most scored by a Mean Green true freshman in their collegiate debut.

It was the first of her so far two double-doubles this year. She later set a season-high with a 13-rebound performance in her second double-double game.

Holmes, knocked down what would eventually be the game-winning 3-pointer in the final seconds against Charlotte on Jan. 13.

The three-time C-USA Freshman of the Week winner is an elite athlete who has been given the duties of some of the toughest defensive assignments. She leads the team in steals and in hustle stats, such as drawn charges. She’s a relentless rebounder who has springs in her feet.

Holmes led a double-digit comeback win at Florida Atlantic but scoring 18 points on four made 3-pointers and grabbing nine rebounds.

She is the sixth North Texas freshman to be named to a conference all-freshman team and the first since UNT moved to C-USA. Bradley is 20th different North Texas women’s basketball player to earn postseason all-conference honors. She’s just the fifth to be named to an all-conference first-team. It is the first time since 2013 that North Texas has had two players earn all-conference honors in the same season. 

2018 C-USA All-Conference Honors
All-Conference 1st Team
Laia Raventós, Charlotte
Alexus Malone, Louisiana Tech
Terriell Bradley, North Texas
Erica Ogwumike, Rice
Rachael Childress, UAB
Deanna Kuzmanic, UAB
Ivy Brown, WKU
Tashia Brown, WKU

All-Freshman Team
Octavia Wilson, Charlotte
Anna Jones, Middle Tennessee
Lauren Holmes, North Texas
Victoria Morris, Old Dominion
Raneem Elgedawy, WKU

North Texas All-Conference History
All-Conference Selections
Southland Conference
1986: Clara Campbell, First Team, Barbara Williams, Second Team
1987: Clara Campbell, Second Team
1988: Ramona Black, Second Team
1989: Nelda Roy, Second Team
1990: Ramona Black, Second Team, Nelda Roy, Second Team
1994: Nikki Ryan, Second Team
1996: Ashley Norris, Second Team 

Big West Conference
1998: Ashley Norris, Honorable Mention
1999: Jalie Mitchell, First Team, Empress Drane, Second Team
2000: Jalie Mitchell, Second Team, Rosalyn Reades, Second Team 

Sun Belt Conference
2001: Jalie Mitchell, First Team
2002: Jalie Mitchell, First Team, Shannan Stephenson, First Team Rosalyn Reades, Honorable Mention
2003: Kim Blanton, First Team
2004: Kim Blanton, Honorable Mention
2005: Erika Bobo, Honorable Mention
2006: Erika Bobo, Second Team, Mia Ajekwu, Third Team
2008: Amber Jackson, Second Team
2009: Amber Jackson, First Team
2010: Brittney James, Third Team
2011: Denetra Kellum, Third Team
2012: Jasmine Godbolt, Third Team
2013: Alexis Hyder, Third Team, Loryn Goodwin, Third Team

Conference USA
2018: Terriell Bradley, First Team

Bradley, Holmes and the entire Mean Green team are facing Charlotte in the first round of the C-USA women’s basketball tournament on Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. at the Star in Frisco.

All-session passes are your best value and allow you to catch all the action of the conference tournament. Fans can buy all-session passes here.

North Texas Faculty/Staff Tickets
Session 1 (Women’s First Round) – March 7th, 2018
Code: NTwomen
Price: $15.00 (Permanent Bowl Seating)

Whether you plan to attend the C-USA Championships or not, please consider making a gift to provide UNT students with a memorable experience cheering on the Mean Green in postseason action. Gifts can be made here.

North Texas Mean Green