Kellum Named To The All-Conference Team

DENTON, Texas - North Texas senior guard Denetra Kellum was today named to All-Sun Belt Conference third-team as the league announced its post-season awards. Kellum is the leading scorer for the Mean Green, averaging 15.6 points a game, and is the fifth leading scorer in the Sun Belt Conference.

It is the fourth straight year for the Mean Green to have an all-conference selection. North Texas has had at least one-player selected to the all-conference team in 13 of the past 14 seasons dating back to 1998 and the Big West Conference. It is the first All-Sun Belt nod for Kellum in her career.

Kellum has recorded five double-doubles this season and has scored in double figures in 25 of the 29 games this season. She has scored 20 points or more six times this season and had a career-high 30 points again Sam Houston State.

Kellum scored 29 points against FIU, which included a school record 14-for-14 performance from the free throw line. She had 25 points against FAU and had a 10-for-10 performance from the free throw line, becoming the only player in school history to record two games of hitting 10 or more free throws without a miss.

Chastity Reed of UALR was named the Player of the Year and Joe Foley, also from UALR, was the Coach of the Year.

North Texas opens up Sun Belt Conference Tournament play against Western Kentucky on Saturday at 12 p.m. from Hot Springs.

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Chastity Reed (UALR, Sr., F)
Kaetlyn Murdoch (Denver, Jr., F.)
Ebony Rowe (Middle Tennessee, Fr., F)
Anne Marie Lanning (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)
Arnika Brown (WKU, Sr., F)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Shanika Butler (UALR, Sr., G)
Britteni Rice (Denver, Sr., G.)
Brianna Culberson (Denver, R-Sr., F)
Jerica Coley (FIU, Fr., G)
Mercedes Johnson (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., F)

Third Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Shay Scott (Arkansas State, Sr., F)
Denetra Kellum (North Texas, Sr., G)
Donette McNair (Troy, Sr., F)
Christian Shelter (South Alabama, Sr., F)
Amy McNear (WKU, Sr., G)

Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year
Chastity Reed (UALR, Sr., F)

Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year
Shanika Butler (UALR, Sr., G)

Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year
Ebony Rowe (Middle Tennessee, Fr., F)

Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year
Joe Foley, UALR



North Texas Mean Green