Godbolt Named Freshman Of The Year, James Third Team All-Conference

DENTON, Texas - For only the second time in school history, North Texas has a Freshman of the Year. Jasmine Godbolt today was named the Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year after turning in one of the best seasons by a freshman at North Texas, and guard Brittney James was named third-team all-conference.

Godbolt is the first player to win the Freshman of the Year award for North Texas since joining the Sun Belt Conference. James earned her first ever All-Sun Belt nod as she is eighth in the conference in scoring at 14.1 points a game.

Godbolt is the first freshman in 15 years to earn the award at North Texas and she joins LaFreda Deckard as the only other player to be named Freshman of the Year at North Texas. Deckard was named Southland Conference Freshman of the Year in 1995.

This season she has set freshman records for most double-doubles with eight, rebounds with 238, and she has scored the most points by a freshman since 1998-99. She leads the Sun Belt Conference among freshman in points, rebounds, and field goal percentage.

James has etched her name into the record books at North Texas this season after she became just the 12th player in school history to score 1,000 points in a career. She is the only player in school history to score 1,000 points, hit 100 3-pointers, and have 200 steals in a career. James has topped 20-points seven times this season.

North Texas opens play in the Sun Belt Conference Tournament against FIU on Saturday afternoon at 2:30 in Hot Springs, Ark.

First Team All-Conference
Chastity Reed (UALR, Jr., F)
Kaetlyn Murdoch (Denver, So., F.)
Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee, Sr., F)
Brandi Brown (Middle Tennessee, Sr., F)
Arnika Brown (WKU, Sr., F) 

Second Team All-Conference
Ebonie Jefferson (Arkansas State, Sr., G)
Britteni Rice (Denver, Jr., G.)
Elisa Carey (FIU, Jr., F)
Jackie Pickel (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)
Amy McNear (WKU, Jr., G)

Third Team All-Conference
Kim Sitzmann (UALR, Sr., G)
Brittany Bowe (Florida Atlantic, Sr., G)
Brittney James (North Texas, Sr., G)
Shakira Nettles (South Alabama, Sr., G)
Donette McNair (Troy University, Jr., F) 

Player of the Year: Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee, Sr., F)
Defensive Player of the Year: Jackie Pickel (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)
Freshman of the Year: Jasmine Godbolt (North Texas, Fr., F)
Coach of the Year: Joe Foley, UALR



North Texas Mean Green