Bobo and Ajekwu Named All-Conference

DENTON, Tex. (3/1/06) Senior Erika Bobo and junior Mia Ajekwu were named to the All-Sun Belt Conference team today after leading the North Texas women’s basketball team to the West Division Championship.


Bobo was named to the second-team all-conference while Ajekwu was selected to the third-team all-conference.


The all-conference selection is the second of Bobo’s career and the first of Ajekwu’s. It marks the ninth consecutive year that North Texas has had a player named to the all-conference team and only the sixth time in school history that the Mean Green has had multiple players named all-conference in the same year.


Bobo became the only player in North Texas history to record 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, 300 assists, and 200 steals for her career. She became the 10th player in school history to score 1,000 points this season. Bobo tied her career-high with 23 points in the come-from-behind win over Middle Tennessee.


Ajekwu recorded three games of more than 20 points this season. She notched her career-high 24 points in the Division clinching win over South Alabama. She also had 23 points in the win over Troy and 23 points against UTPA. Over the past six games Ajekwu has averaged 17.5 points from the floor and is shooting 52 percent from the floor.


North Texas opens up the Sun Belt Conference Tournament against either Arkansas State or Troy on Saturday, March 4 at 5 p.m.


Adrianne Davie F Jr. Arkansas State
Chrissy Givens G Jr. Middle Tennessee
Lasma Jekabsone C Jr. Florida International
Crystal Kelly F So. Western Kentucky
Tiffany Porter-Talbert G Sr. Western Kentucky

Erika Bobo G Sr. North Texas
Yolanda Jones F Jr. Louisiana-Lafayette
Jocelyn Love F/G Jr. Arkansas-Little Rock
Rudy Sims G Jr. Arkansas State
JoAnna Williams G Sr. South Alabama

Venice Adams F Sr. Denver
Mia Ajekwu C Jr. North Texas
Krystle Horton F Jr. Middle Tennessee
Tia Stovall F Sr. Middle Tennessee
Whitney Woodard F Jr. South Alabama

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Chrissy Givens, Middle Tennessee
DEF. PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Chrissy Givens, Middle Tennessee
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Yolanda Jones, Louisiana-Lafayette
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Renee Renz, Arkansas-Little Rock
COACH OF THE YEAR: Mary Taylor-Cowles, Western Kentucky






North Texas Mean Green