Snyman Earns First Team All-C-USA Honors, Two More Mean Green Golfers Honored

May 4, 2017

IRVING, Texas – Three Mean Green golfers earned All-Conference USA recognition Thursday, including sophomore Ian Snyman, who was named to the league's first team. Senior Cory Churchman and sophomore Thomas Rosenmueller were named to the second team.

"Ian, Cory and Thomas had a great year for us," head coach Brad Stracke said of his talented trio. "I am very excited to have three guys named to the all-conference team. You earn all-conference recognition by your Golfstat ranking at the end of the year, so this award is well-deserved."

Snyman had the Mean Green’s best round on the season (67) and an impressive fourth place finish at the Wolf Run Intercolliegate. Snyman, last year's C-USA Freshman of the Year and second team all-conference honoree, led the team in scoring average this season at 73.35.

Churchman, who was just named North Texas' Male Student-Athlete of the Year at the inaugural Scrappys, earns his second consecutive place on the conference's second team, and third all-conference honor overall. Churchman averaged a single round score of 73.65 on the season, and was the team's highest finisher at the Conference USA Championship last month, tying for second at even par.  

Rosenmueller was also on the all-freshman team and second team a year ago, and returned to his strong form in 2016-17. The sophomore from Munich averaged a single round score of 73.45, and finished in a tie for seventh at the C-USA Championship in April.

Golfer of the Year: Frederik Dreier, UTEP
Freshman of the Year: Ilari Saulo, Middle Tennessee
Coach of the Year: Scott Lieberwirth, UTEP

All-Conference USA First Team
Joey Savoie, Middle Tennessee
Ian Snyman, North Texas
R.J. Keur, UAB
Frederik Dreier, UTEP
Aaron Terrazas, UTEP

All-Conference USA Second Team
Cory Churchman, North Texas
Thomas Rosenmueller, North Texas
Taylor Eyster, UAB
Charles Corner, UTEP
Zander Lozano, UTSA

Conference USA All-Freshman Team
John Gough, Charlotte
Matty Lamb, Charlotte
Conor Purcell, Charlotte
Ilari Saulo, Middle Tennessee
Chip Thomas, Middle Tennessee



North Texas Mean Green