Snyman Named C-USA Freshman Of The Year

May 4, 2016

Freshman Ian Snyman earned C-USA Freshman of the Year honors after a stellar rookie season for the Mean Green. 

C-USA Release

DENTON – Freshman Ian Snyman was honored as the 2016 Conference USA Freshman of the Year while teammates Cory Churchman and Thomas Rosenmueller were named all-conference, announced by the league office Wednesday.

Awards are designated based on Golfstat individual rankings following the 2016 Conference USA Men's Golf Championship. The Mean Green were honored with three second-team members in Churchman, Rosemueller and Snyman. Additionally, Snyman and Rosemueller earned selections to the C-USA All-Freshman team.

It marks the first time since 2013 that North Texas has had three all-conference selections when Rodolfo Cazaubon, Carlos Ortiz and Jason Roets were honored.

Snyman becomes the second ever Freshman of the Year joining former Mean Green standout Cazaubon who was the Sun Belt Freshman of the Year in 2010. The South African native had a stellar rookie campaign holding the second lowest scoring average on the team at 73.39 through 33 rounds. Snyman picked up four top-10 finishes and opened his collegiate career with tying for fifth place at the Memphis Intercollegiate in September. A two-time C-USA Golfer of the Week, Snyman shot a season-low 67 at the prestigious Aggie Invitational and finished in a tie for eighth. He finished the C-USA Championship in a tie for sixth place helping North Texas finish third and advancing to the match play portion of the event.

Churchman, who was named to the C-USA All-Tournament team last season, picked up his first all-conference award making the second team. Churchman finished third on the team with a 73.66 scoring average and had four top-10 finishes on the season. The Abilene native shot a career-low 67 in the second round of the John Hayt Collegiate on Feb. 27. Churchman finished the season with nine rounds of 72 or better, including an opening round 70 to help North Texas to a third place finish at the C-USA Championship.

Rosenmueller earns his first C-USA All-Conference Second Team selection after leading the team with a 73.18 scoring average on the season. Rosemueller started his rookie season with a bang placing second at the Windon Memorial Classic, just his second collegiate event, with an opening round 67. One month later, Rosenmueller would take home his first college title after shooting a season-low 63 in the second round helping North Texas claim the title at the Quail Valley Collegiate Invitational. He finished the season with six top-15 finishes and posted three rounds in the 60s. The German native made the C-USA All-Tournament team after placing third, including a final round 69 to help North Texas finish third at the C-USA Championship.

Golfer of the Year: Frederik Dreier, UTEP
Freshman of the Year: Ian Snyman, North Texas
Coach of the Year: Alan Murray, UAB

First Team
Seth Gandy, Charlotte
Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech
Taylor Eyster, UAB
Lee Hodges, UAB
Frederik Dreier, UTEP

Second Team
Victor Wiggins, Charlotte
Cory Churchman, North Texas
Thomas Rosenmueller, North Texas
Ian Snyman, North Texas
Martin Rohwer, UAB

All-Freshman Team
Thomas Rosenmueller, North Texas
Ian Snyman, North Texas
Will Voetsch, Rice
Tim Harry, UAB
Andreas Sorenson, UTEP



North Texas Mean Green