Stracke Named SBC Coach Of The Year

DENTON, Texas – The record setting year for the North Texas men’s golf team continued as head coach Brad Stracke was named the Sun Belt Coach of the Year while Rodolfo Cazaubon, Carlos Ortiz and Jason Roets were named to the all-conference team.  

After capturing the Sun Belt Conference title for a second straight year, Stracke was named the Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. He is the first Mean Green coach to win the award since David Foster in 1999 picking up the fourth such honor in program history.

Seniors Cazaubon and Ortiz were each named First-Team All-Sun Belt and they both enter rarified territory at North Texas. The pair is just the second and third players in school history to be named all-conference for four straight years. Alan Magill was the only previous player to be a four-time all-conference player from 1994-97.

Cazaubon, playing the best golf of his career, has won three individual medalist titles this season to go with two second place finishes, one of which was a playoff loss at the Sun Belt championship.

Ortiz has six top-10 finishes this season and the second lowest stroke average on the team to Cazaubon. Sophomore Jason Roets was named Second-Team All-Sun Belt as he notched two third-place finishes this season.

Stracke is the only coach in school history to coach two four-time all-conference players. The Mean Green put three players on the all-conference team for a second straight season, which is just the second-time in school history that has occurred.

Since 2009, the Mean Green has had 12 players named to the all-conference team, which is the second most over a five year-span in school history.

North Texas, No. 40 in the latest national rankings, is waiting to find out its venue for NCAA regional-tournament play, which is May 16-18.

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Jonathan Grey, Georgia State
Brandt Garon, Louisiana-Lafayette
Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
Carlos Ortiz, North Texas
Michael Garretson, South Alabama
Tyler Klava, South Alabama

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Alfred Kerstis, UALR
Davin White, Georgia State
Payne Denman, Middle Tennessee
Jason Roets, North Texas
Tolver Dozier, Troy
Jake Tucker, Troy

Freshman of the Year
Jonathan Grey, Georgia State

Coach of the Year
Brad Stracke, North Texas



North Texas Mean Green