Mean Green Pair Sit Inside Top Ten At The Hayt After Round Two

Feb. 25, 2017

Round Two Results Get Acrobat Reader

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Florida - Senior Cory Churchman vaulted himself into a four-way tie atop the leaderboard after the second round of The Hayt Saturday from Sawgrass Country Club in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Churchman, as his teammate Thomas Rosenmueller did Friday, carded a 3-under par 69 to lead the Mean Green, who are in a tie for sixth place following action on day two, eight shots behind leaders and hosts North Florida.

Churchman, 4-under par for the weekend, equaled his season-low score of 69 from the Wolf Run Intercollegiate back in the fall. The senior eagled on No. 11, a hole he birdied Friday, and also birdied three times Saturday, including his second straight day going back-to-back on No. 7 and No. 8.

Rosenmueller, who was tied for the lead Friday shot a 2-over 74 Saturday and joins his teammate inside the top 10 of the leaderboard, tied for seventh at 1-under for the tournament. The German native birdied three times Saturday, including back-to-back birdies on the 17th and 18th holes, respectively. Were it not for a double bogey on No. 2, he would have been even-par and just a shot off Churchman and the other co-leaders.

Sophomore Ian Snyman also had a strong day in round two, firing a 1-over par 73 to move into a tie for 30th place.

The Mean Green are back in action Sunday morning for the third and final round, which is set to tee off at 6:30 a.m. CT. Churchman, who is seeking his first-ever collegiate championship, will tee off at 7:30 a.m. Fans can follow along with live results, courtesy of Golfstat.

Team Leaderboard
1. North Florida (+1)
2. Jacksonville (+4)
T3. UCF (+8)
T3. Tennessee (+8)
T3. Liberty (+8)
T6. North Texas (+9)
T6. UAB (+9)
T6. Campbell (+9)
9. Louisville (+11)
10. East Carolina (+14)
11. Army West Point (+15)
12. UCLA (+17)
13. Furman (+22)
14. Coastal Carolina (+25)
15. Navy (+50)

Individual Leaderboard
T1. Cory Churchman (-4)
T7. Thomas Rosenmueller (-1)
T30. Ian Snyman (+4)
73. Andrew Hudson (+13)
T74. Devin Jackson (+14)



North Texas Mean Green