Zach Orr Named North Texas MVP

Dec. 23, 2013

DENTON, Texas – Senior linebacker Zach Orr was named the 2013 Odus Mitchell MVP as the North Texas football team handed out the team awards Saturday night at a team awards dinner. Orr also took home the Joe Greene Outstanding Defensive Player Award and the Byron Gross Outstanding Linebacker Award for the second straight season. 

Orr was a first-team All-CUSA pick as he led North Texas in tackles for the third straight season with 114. 
Quarterback Derek Thompson was presented the Steve Ramsey Award for Most Outstanding Offensive Player while Brandin Byrd captured the Ja’Quay Wilburn Award as the Most Outstanding Offensive Back. 

Marcus Trice and Brelan Chancellor shared the Abner Hayes Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player and Trice won the Bill Brashier Award for Most Outstanding Defensive Back. Aaron Bellazin won the Bill Bishop Award for Outstanding Defensive Lineman and LaChris Anyiam was named the winner of the Phillip Armour Award for Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman. 

2013 North Texas Football Award Winners
Odus Mitchell , Team MVP - Zach Orr
Steve Ramsey, Outstanding Offensive Player – Derek Thompson
Joe Greene, Outstanding Defensive Player - Zach Orr
Abner Haynes, Outstanding Special Teams Player – Marcus Trice/Brelan Chancellor
Ja’Quay Wilburn, Outstanding Offensive Back – Brandin Byrd
Phillip Armour, Outstanding Offensive Lineman – LaChris Anyiam 
Byron Gross, Outstanding Linebacker - Zach Orr 
Bill Brashier, Outstanding Defensive Back – Marcus Trice 
Bill Bishop, Outstanding Defensive Lineman – Aaron Bellazin 
Shawn Kramer, Most Inspirational – Tony Johnson/Kenny Buyers
Newcomer of the Year – James Jones
Scout Team Offense MVP- Willie Hubbard
Scout Team Defense MVP – Andy Flusche



North Texas Mean Green