Orr Named MVP At 2012 Football Banquet

DENTON, Texas - Junior linebacker Zach Orr was named the 2012 Odus Mitchell MVP at the 2012 North Texas football annual awards banquet Friday. Orr was presented the award following a vote his teammates and coaches.

Orr also took home the Joe Greene Outstanding Defensive Player Award and the Byron Gross Outstanding Linebacker Award. Orr led the team in tackles and was named second team All-Sun Belt Conference. It was the second straight year he led the team in tackles. 

Senior center Aaron Fortenberry was presented the Steve Ramsey Outstanding Offensive Player after leading an offensive line that finished the year allowing the fewest sacks allowed in FBS football.  Fortenberry was a three-year starter and a first team All-Sun Belt Conference in 2012. 

The Abner Haynes Outstanding Special Teams Award was given to senior punter Will Atterberry.  Atterberry was a two-time all-conference performer and had a career punting average over 41 yards per attempt which ranks in the top 10 in school history. 

The banquet also honored the six All-Sun Belt Conference performers and the 17 seniors who were on the 2012 team.  Seven of the 17 seniors were starters.       

Head Coach Dan McCarney finished his second season with a 4-8 record, including a 3-5 mark in the Sun Belt.  It was the last year that North Texas will compete in the Sun Belt Conference, with the team making the move to Conference USA in 2013.  

2012 North Texas Football Award Winners
Odus Mitchell , Team MVP - Zach Orr

Steve Ramsey, Outstanding Offensive layer - Aaron Fortenberry
Joe Greene, Outstanding Defensive Player - Zach Orr
Abner Haynes, Outstanding Special Teams Player - Will Atterberry
JaQuay Wilburn, Outstanding Offensive Back - Brandin Byrd
Phillip Armour, Outstanding Offensive Lineman - Mason Y'Barbo
Byron Gross, Outstanding Linebacker - Zach Orr
Bill Brashier, Outstanding Defensive Back - Zac Whitfield
Bill Bishop, Outstanding Defensive Lineman - K.C. Obi
Shawn Kramer, Most Inspirational - Coleman Feeley and Jeremy Phillips
Newcomer of the Year - Antoinne Jimmerson
Scout Team Offense MVP- Brock Berglund
Scout Team Defense MVP - Brandon Johnson



North Texas Mean Green