Fitzgerald, Spencer Named First-Team All-Conference

DENTON, Texas North Texas wide receiver Casey Fitzgerald and punter Truman Spencer were both named to the Sun Belt Conference First Team, the league announced today.  This is the second straight year that Fitzgerald earned first-team honors and the first time Spencer has been named to the elite team. 

Fitzgerald led the nation in receptions, averaging 9.4 catches per game.   He broke Sun Belt Conference and North Texas records for single-season receptions with 113 this season.  The senior also led the league and ranked 14th nationally in receiving yards, averaging 93.3 yards per game.  In just two years as a starter, Fitzgerald set the Sun Belt and North Texas records for career receptions with 229.  He was a semifinalist for the Biletnikoff Award, presented annually to the nation’s top receiver. 

Spencer led the league and ranked 24th in the nation in punting, averaging 42.4 yards per attempt.  His 69 attempts this season also ranked second in the league, just one behind the leader.  The senior holds the Sun Belt Conference career record for number of punts with 264 and punting yards with 10,702.  He placed 10 punts inside the opponent 20-yard line this season.

Linebacker Tobe Nwigwe was named second team all-conference after finishing third in the league with 111 tackles.  The junior averaged 9.2 stops per game.  Nwigwe led the team and led all Sun Belt linebackers with three interceptions, including a 97-yard interception return that sealed the victory against Western Kentucky.  He is the first Mean Green linebacker since 2003 to have over 100 tackles in a season.

Junior running back Cam Montgomery and sophomore linebacker Craig Robertson were honorable mention selections to the all-conference team.  Montgomery led the team and finished sixth in the conference with 928 rushing yards for an average of 77.3 yards per game.  Robertson finished second on the team and seventh in the league in tackles with 93.

Louisiana-Lafayette running back Tyrell Fenroy was named the Player of the Year, while his teammate and quarterback Michael Desormeaux was named the Offensive Player of the Year.  Arkansas State defensive end Alex Carrington was named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year.  Standout wide receiver and return specialist T.Y. Hilton of Florida International was the Freshman of the Year while Troy quarterback Levi Brown was the Newcomer of the Year.  Troy head coach Larry Blakeney earned Coach of the Year honors after leading his team to a conference title and New Orleans Bowl berth.      





North Texas Mean Green