Akunne Named North Texas Football MVP

Dec. 8, 2014

DENTON – Senior linebacker Derek Akunne was named the 2014 Odus Mitchell MVP as the North Texas football team handed out the team awards Sunday night at the awards dinner. Akunne also took home the Joe Greene Outstanding Defensive Player Award and the Byron Gross Outstanding Linebacker Award.

Akunne finished the year with 108 tackles to lead North Texas and C-USA. He finished his career with 308 tackles and 23.0 tackles for loss, which rank eighth most in school history.

Carlos Harris took home the Steve Ramsey Award for most Outstanding Offensive Player while Reggie Pegram captured the Ja’Quay Wilburn Award as the Most Outstanding Offensive Back. Harris led North Texas with 70 receptions and 863 yards, the ninth-most in a single season.

Antonio Johnson, Cyril Lemon and Mason Y’Barbo shared the Phillip Armour Award for Outstanding Offensive Lineman. Daryl Mason won the Bill Bishop Award for Outstanding Defensive Lineman and James Jones was named the Bill Brashier winner as the Most Outstanding Defensive Back.



Chad Polk captured the Shawn Kramer Award as the Most Inspirational Player, while Eric Keena won the Abner Haynes Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player. Kicker Trevor Moore was named the Newcomer of the Year while Daniel Khan was named the Scout Team Offensive MVP and Blake Bean the Scout Team Defensive MVP.

2014 North Texas Football Award Winners
Odus Mitchell , Team MVP – Derek Akunne
Steve Ramsey, Outstanding Offensive Player –Carlos Harris
Joe Greene, Outstanding Defensive Player – Derek Akunne
Abner Haynes, Outstanding Special Teams Player – Eric Keena
Ja’Quay Wilburn, Outstanding Offensive Back –Reggie Pegram
Phillip Armour, Outstanding Offensive Lineman – Antonio Johnson, Cyril Lemon, Mason Y’Barbo
Byron Gross, Outstanding Linebacker – Derek Akunne
Bill Brashier, Outstanding Defensive Back – James Jones
Bill Bishop, Outstanding Defensive Lineman – Daryl Mason
Shawn Kramer, Most Inspirational – Chad Polk
Newcomer of the Year – Trevor Moore
Scout Team Offense MVP- Daniel Khan
Scout Team Defense MVP – Blake Bean

North Texas Mean Green