Wilson Named Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Semifinalist

Nov. 22, 2017

TYLER, Texas – North Texas senior running back Jeffery Wilson (Elkhart, Texas) was named one of 10 semifinalists for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, the selection committee announced Wednesday.

Wilson is among a list that includes four quarterbacks, four wide receivers, and two running backs. Six different conferences are represented. 

Wilson has carried 188 times for 1,215 yards and 16 touchdowns, all career highs, for the Mean Green in 11 appearances. He has surpassed 100 yards five times, including a career-best 211 in the win over UAB on Sept. 23, and has four games with multiple touchdowns. His 16 rushing scores ranks seventh nationally, while his 6.5 yards per carry average are 15th-best in the Football Bowl Subdivision, and his 110.5 yards per game rank 20th in the country.

The 2017 Semifinalists are:

J.T. Barrett, QB, Ohio State, Senior – Wichita Falls, TX (Rider HS) Big Ten

Keke Coutee, WR, Texas Tech, Junior – Lufkin, TX (Lufkin HS) Big 12

Jalen Hurts, QB, Alabama, Sophomore – Houston, TX (Channelview HS) SEC

Ronald Jones, II, TB, USC, Junior – McKinney, TX (McKinney North HS) Pac-12

Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma, Senior – Austin, TX (Lake Travis HS) Big 12

Denzel Mims, WR, Baylor, Sophomore – Daingerfield, TX (Daingerfield HS) Big 12

Trey Quinn, WR, SMU, Junior – Lake Charles, LA (Barbe HS) American Athletic Conference

Jarrett Stidham, QB, Auburn, Sophomore – Stephenville, TX (Stephenville HS) SEC

James Washington, WR, Oklahoma State, Senior – Stamford, TX (Stamford HS) Big 12

Jeffery Wilson, RB, North Texas, Senior – Elkhart, TX (Elkhart HS) Conference-USA

Finalists will be selected from this group and announced on December 6, 2017.

The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler, Texas on January 10, 2018.



North Texas Mean Green