Former Greats Return As Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony Next Saturday

DENTON, Tex. - The 2009 North Texas Athletic Hall of Fame breakfast is one week away as former greats Billy Dinkle, Jimmy Gales, Corina Marginas, and Ja'Quay Wilburn will enter the Hall of Fame next Saturday morning at the Gateway Center. Along with the induction of the 1959 North Texas football team that went 9-2 and played in the Sun Bowl will be honored.

The guest lineup includes former greats Joe Greene and members of the 1959 team including Abner Haynes. One of the captains of the 59' team, Bill Carrico will speak at the breakfast. Hayes and Carrico were both All-Americans in 1959 as the team captured the Missouri Valley Conference title.

Dinkle was a running back and kicker, earning all-conference in the Lone Star in 1946. He was also named honorable mention Little All-America in 1946.

Gales served as the head coach of the Mean Green basketball team from 1986-87 to 1992-93, in addition to serving as an assistant under former coach Bill Blakeley from 1975-83. Gales' teams won a total of 84 victories during his tenure as head coach, a total that ranks third-best in school history. He also is the first coach to ever lead the Mean Green men's team to the NCAA Tournament.

Marginas is the first volleyball player ever to be inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame. Marginas was a four-time first-team all-conference player from 2000-03 and was the 2003 Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year.

Wilburn was a four-year football letterman from 1997-2000 and is the only player to ever lead North Texas in rushing yards four straight seasons. He finished his career as the Mean Green's all-time leading rusher with 3,120 yards.

The breakfast begins at 8:30 a.m. and tickets are available by calling the North Texas ticket office at 1-800-UNT-2366.



North Texas Mean Green