Thomas Honored By Dallas All Sports Association

North Texas sophomore running back Jamario Thomas was named the College Male Athlete of the Year by the Dallas All Sports Association at the organizations annual All-Star Awards Banquet in Dallas Tuesday night. 


Thomas was one of several honorees, which also included sports legends Lee Trevino, Buck Showalter, Dick Enberg and Johnny Rutherford.  Award presenters for the evening included the Nattional Football League’s all-time leading rusher Emmitt Smith as well as current Dallas Cowboys player Keyshawn Johnson and former Dallas Mavericks head coach Don Nelson.  


The organization honors one collegiate male and female Athlete of the Year, as well as a collegiate Coach of the Year and a collegiate Team of the Year.  Along with Thomas, Baylor women’s basketball player Sophia Young and Baylor women’s basketball coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson earned the prestigious individual awards.  The national-champion Baylor women’s basketball team also took home the Team of the Year award.


The Dallas All Sports Association was created to honor excellence in athletics, character and citizenship among the top stars and celebrities in college and professional athletics.  The organization also creates scholarships for 20 deserving high school athletes to attend the college of their choice.


Thomas earned the honor after leading the nation in rushing as a true freshman for the Mean Green in 2004.  Thomas set or tied five NCAA records in his first season and became one of only three freshmen ever to rush for over 1,800 yards in a season.



North Texas Mean Green