North Texas Announces 2013 Hall Of Fame Class

Aug 30, 2013

The University of North Texas has announced its 2013 Athletic Hall of Fame class. Jim Cooper (football), Scott Hall (football), Heather Hutyra (women’s soccer), Corky Nelson (football) and Cody Spencer (football) are the five former Mean Green greats that will be inducted into the North Texas Athletic Hall of Fame in the spring of 2014.

Cooper was one of the earliest All-America players in North Texas history. In 1946, Cooper was an HM Little All-America, the anchor of the offensive line that captured the Lone Star Conference title and played in the first bowl game in school history. North Texas won the Optimist Bowl in 1946 with a 14-13 victory over Pacific.

One of the most accomplished quarterbacks in school history. Hall led North Texas to the Sun Belt Conference title in 2001, 2003 and 2004. The Mean Green went to the New Orleans Bowl each of those years thanks to the leadership of Hall. He guided North Texas to 24 wins while under center at North Texas.

Hutyra took the North Texas soccer team to new heights during her time as one of the most decorated players in school history. She finished her career as a three-time first-team all-conference selection.

She was the 2004 Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year and helped lead North Texas to the NCAA Tournament and Sun Belt Conference Tournament title for the first time in school history, and set a single season freshman record with 83 shots, six goals and 17 points.

Clark "Corky" Nelson was head football coach for nine seasons from 1982-1990, a time when the program moved to Division I-AA and overcame financial hardships to succeed as a member of the Southland Conference.

Nelson coached the Mean Green to the third most victories in school history (48), winning a league championship in 1983, leading the team to a pair of second-place finishes and advancing as a Top 20-ranked team to the Division I-AA national playoffs three times.

Spencer was
one of the stalwarts of the North Texas defense from 2000-03. He was a three-time all-conference selection from 2001-03 and was twice named to the first-team all-conference. Spencer had 105 tackles his sophomore season in 2001 and was named to the second-team all-conference squad.



The school’s 31th all-time class will be inducted in the spring of 2014 in conjuction with the North Texas spring football game at Apogee Stadium. The 2013 Athletic Hall of Fame class will be recognized at North Texas’ homecoming game against UTEP on November 9. The five legends give the North Texas Athletic Hall of Fame 176 members.


North Texas Mean Green