Fitzgerald And Drake Named All-Conference

DENTON, Texas (7/21/08) North Texas record-breaking wide receiver Casey Fitzgerald and offensive lineman Kelvin Drake were named to the 2008 Sun Belt Conference Preseason All-Conference Team, the league announced on Monday.

Fitzgerald was a 2007 All-American last season after leading the league in receptions and yards. Drake was a second-team all-conference selection last season and the anchor of the Mean Green’s offensive line after starting all 12 games at center.  

“This league returns a lot of great players and we know that we will have to show a lot of improvement to move up in the standings,” said Coach Todd Dodge. “We are excited to begin the 2008 season to show that we are improving and moving this program in the right direction. Looking back at last year we know that we were a better team than our final record indicated, but that is what you have to live with until you can make amends the following year”.

Along with leading the Sun Belt Conference in receiving last season, Fitzgerald was third in the nation in receptions (111), sixth in yards (1,322), and tied for 10th nationally with 12 touchdown catches.

The Mean Green was picked to finish seventh this season in the preseason poll as voted on by the leagues head coaches. Defending conference champion Florida Atlantic is picked to repeat as they garnered six of the eight first place votes and 62 points. Troy and Louisiana-Monroe picked up the other two first place votes.

Florida Atlantic also swept the offensive and defensive Player of the Year as quarterback Rusty Smith and linebacker Frantz Joseph captured the awards. 

The Mean Green ended the 2007 season with a 2-10 overall record and a league record of 1-6. North Texas begins the 2008 season on August 30 at Kansas State under second-year head coach Todd Dodge. The home opener for North Texas is one week later on September 6 against Tulsa.

2008 Preseason Sun Belt Poll

As voted on by the league’s eight head coaches. 

First place votes in parentheses.

School                                   Points

1. Florida Atlantic (6)                   62

2. Troy (1)                                   51

3. Louisiana-Monroe (1)               46

4. Arkansas State                        39

5. Middle Tennessee                   32

6. Louisiana-Lafayette                 26

7. North Texas                           19

8. Florida International                 13



QB: Rusty Smith (FAU, Jr.)

RB: Reggie Arnold (ASU, Jr.)

RB: Tyrell Fenroy (ULL, Sr.)

WR: Cortez Gent (Florida Atlantic, Jr.)

WR: Casey Fitzgerald (NT, Sr.)

TE: David Johnson (ASU, Sr.)

TE: Zeek Zacharie (ULM, Sr.)

OL: Matt Mandich (ASU, Sr.)

OL: Nick Paris (FAU, Sr.

OL: Chris Fisher (ULL, Jr.)

OL: Kelvin Drake (NT, Jr.)

OL: Dion Small (Troy, Sr.)



DL: Alex Carrington (ASU, Jr.)

DL: Robert St. Clair (FAU, Sr.)

DL: Jervonte Jackson (FAU, Sr.)

DL: Kenny Mainor (Troy, Sr.)

LB: Ben Owens (ASU, Sr.)

LB: Frantz Joseph (FAU, Sr.)

LB: Boris Lee (Troy, Jr.)

DB: Tavious Polo (FAU, So.)

DB: Corey Small (FAU, Sr.)

DB: Greg James (ULM, Jr.)

DB: Alex Suber (MT, Sr.)

DB: Sherrod Martin (Troy, Sr.)

DB: Tavares Williams (Troy, Sr.)


Special Teams

P: Scott Love (ULM, Jr.)

PK: Drew Edmiston (ULL, Sr.)

RS: Desmond Gee (MT, Jr.)


Preseason Offensive Player of the Year

Rusty Smith (FAU, Jr., Quarterback)


Preseason Defensive Player of the Year

Frantz Joseph (FAU, Sr., Linebacker)





more headlines


Dog Day Afternoons

Mean Green Online Store

Official Merchandise of Mean Green Athletics