Mean Green Football Places Four On Preseason All-Conference Team

DENTON, Texas - The North Texas football team placed four players on the Preseason All-Sun Belt Team as announced by the Sun Belt Conference as the league kicked off its Media Day on Monday. Running back Lance Dunbar, offensive lineman Esteban Santiago, defensive end Brandon Akpunku, and linebacker Craig Robertson were all named to the team.

The league also released its Preseason Sun Belt Coaches Poll and North Texas was picked to finish eighth while Middle Tennessee was tabbed as the league favorite.

Dunbar, a junior who rushed for 1,378 yards and had 19 touchdowns, is joined on the offensive team by Santiago who has made 21 starts in the last 22 games and been an anchor on the offensive line at the tackle position.  

Akpunku earned the all-conference nod after notching a team-leading six sacks last season and 11.5 tackles for a loss. Robertson led North Texas in tackles last season with 107.

Dwight Dasher was the league's Offensive Player of the Year and Brian Hall the Defensive Player of the Year.

The Sun Belt Conference also announced its television package for the upcoming football season. The Mean Green will appear twice on the Sun Belt Network, October 2 at home against Louisiana-Lafayette and October 16 at home against FIU.

In addition the Mean Green's season opener at Clemson will be shown on ESPN 3 and the game at Army on September 25 will be broadcast on CBS College Sports.

Dwight Dasher (MT, Sr., QB)
Alfred Morris (FAU, Jr., RB)
Lance Dunbar (NT, Jr., RB)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., WR)
Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Sr., WR)
Ladarius Green (ULL, Jr., TE)
Derek Newton (ASU, Sr., OL)
Brad Serirni (FIU, Sr., OL)
Mark Fisher (MT, Sr., OL)
Esteban Santiago (NT, Sr., OL)
Tyler Clark (Troy, Sr., OL)

Bryan Hall (ASU, Sr., DL)
Troy Evans (ULM, Jr., DL)
Jamari Lattimore (MT, Sr., DL)
Brandon Akpunku (NT, Jr., DL)
Demario Davis (ASU, Jr., LB)
Grant Fleming (ULL, Sr., LB)
Craig Robertson (NT, Sr., LB)
Tavious Polo (FAU, Sr., DB)
Anthony Gaitor (FIU, Sr., DB)
Jeremy Kellem (MT, Sr., DB)
Bryan Willis (Troy, So., DB)

Special Teams
Alan Gendreau (MT, Jr., Place Kicker)
Spencer Ortego (ULL, Sr., Punter)
T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., Return Specialist)

Offensive Player of the Year
Dwight Dasher (MT, Sr., QB)

Offensive Player of the Year
Bryan Hall (ASU, Sr., DL)

Preseason Sun Belt Coaches Poll
First Place Votes in Parenthesis

1. Middle Tennessee

75 (5)

2. Troy

73 (3)

3. Arkansas State


4. Louisiana-Lafayette

49 (1)

5. Florida Atlantic


6. FIU


7. Louisiana-Monroe


8. North Texas


9. WKU




North Texas Mean Green