McClain, Brooks Earn Preseason All-Conference USA Honors

July 17, 2017

IRVING – North Texas senior safety Kishawn McClain and junior cornerback Nate Brooks were each named to Conference USA’s preseason all-conference team, the league announced Monday. This marks the second consecutive year McClain has earned preseason honors, while it is the first such recognition for Brooks.

McClain (Rosenberg, Texas), who last week was named to the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award watch list, led the Mean Green in tackles for the second consecutive season in 2016 with 91 (67 solo). He was a second team Conference USA All-Conference selection as a junior in 2016, and has twice been named Conference USA Defensive Player of the Week. He also intercepted three passes in 2016, which was a career high.

Brooks (Whitehouse, Texas), had a breakout season in 2016 for the Mean Green, leading the team in interceptions with four. He started all 13 games, including the Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl and recorded 57 total tackles (36 solo). Brooks also posted a sack, broke up four passes and forced a pair of fumbles. He also earned C-USA Defensive Player of the Week honors for the first time in his career in November.

The Mean Green open the 2017 season at home on Saturday, Sept. 2 against Lamar at 6 p.m. Season tickets are on sale now and fans can purchase tickets through the Mean Green athletics ticket office. For more information, visit or call the ticket office at 940-565-2527 or 800-868-2366.

2017 Preseason All-Conference USA Team (as voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches)

QB Mike White, Sr., WKU
RB Ray Lawry, Sr., Old Dominion
RB Ito Smith, Sr., Southern Miss
OL O’Shea Dugas, Jr., Louisiana Tech
OL Will Hernandez, Sr., UTEP
OL Trey Martin, Sr., Rice
OL Austin Pratt, Sr., UTSA
OL Brandan Ray, Sr., WKU
TE Ryan Yurachek, Sr., Marshall
WR Richie James, Jr., Middle Tennessee
WR Jonathan Duhart, Sr., Old Dominion
WR Allenzae Staggers, Sr., Southern Miss

DL Marcus Davenport, Sr., UTSA
DL Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech
DL Chris Johnson, Sr., WKU
DL Oshane Ximines, Jr., Old Dominion
LB Emmanuel Ellerbee, Sr., Rice
LB Alvin Jones, Sr., UTEP
LB Josiah Tauaefa, So., UTSA
LB Anthony Wint, Sr., FIU
DB Brandon Addison, Sr., Old Dominion
DB Nate Brooks, Jr., North Texas
DB Joe Brown, Sr., WKU
DB Kishawn McClain, Sr., North Texas

Special Teams
K Canon Rooker, Sr., Middle Tennessee
P Jake Collins, Jr., WKU
KR Kylen Towner, Sr., WKU
PR Nacarius Fant, Sr., WKU
LS Matt Bayliss, Sr., UTSA



North Texas Mean Green