Eight Players Earn Preseason Recognition From Phil Steele

June 1, 2015

DENTON -- Kicker Trevor Moore and center Kaydon Kirby lead a contingent of eight North Texas football players that have been named to Phil Steele's 2015 Preseason C-USA team.  Moore, a freshman All-American in 2014, and Kirby, a 2015 Rimington Award Watch List Candidate, were both named to the first-team.

Moore set a school record in field goal percentage last season and was a perfect 37-for-37 in extra points in 2014. Kirby has started 25 straight games at center for North Texas.

Wide receiver Carlos Harris, cornerback Kenny Buyers and wide receiver Darvin Kidsy were named to the second team. Kidsy was tabbed as the second-team punt returner after leading NT in 2014 with an average of 10.1 yards a return.

Harris led North Texas in receptions and yards while Buyers had two interceptions and was fourth on the team in tackles with 55.

Tight end Marcus Smith, defensive end Chad Polk and punter Eric Keena round out the North Texas selections as they were named to the third-team. Smith led North Texas with six touchdown receptions, Polk led the team in sacks while Keena had the third-highest single season punting average in 2014 at 44.8 yards a kick.   



North Texas Mean Green