Kennedy Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

DENTON (5/7/03) North Texas defensive lineman Brandon Kennedy has been named to the 2003 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, announced by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America this week.

Kennedy is one of 36 players listed as the preseason candidates to win the Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation’s top defensive player.

The watch list will be updated each week during the 2003 season with five finalists being named in November. The trophy will be presented at an awards banquet on Dec. 8, 2003 in Charlotte, N.C.

Kennedy is the only player on the watch list from the Sun Belt Conference and one of just three players from the state of Texas along with Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson and Longhorn defensive lineman Marcus Tubbs. He is also one of only eight defensive tackles listed.

The award is named after former University of Minnesota and Chicago Bears Hall of Famer Bronko Nagurski. Past winners have included Terrell Suggs of Arizona State (2002), Roy Williams of Oklahoma (2001) and Dan Morgan of Miami (2000).



North Texas Mean Green