All-Century Countdown: The Write-Ins

All-Century Team To Be Revealed April 13

The All-Century Team will be unveiled Saturday, April 13, at the Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon in Apogee Stadium’s club level prior to the Green-White Football Game. The roster will also be announced during the Green-White game. Click here for more information on the April 13 event.

The debate over who should be on the North Texas All-Century Football Team raged through five weeks of fan voting. The discussion, however, frequently drifted to names not listed among the finalists.

More than 11,000 votes were registered by Mean Green fans for the All-Century Team, but in addition to the 121 players on the ballot, more than 130 former and current players and coaches received write-in votes. Those votes were tallied and taken into consideration in determining the final roster.

The leading vote-getters among the write-in candidates were former offensive lineman Victor Gill and current linebacker Zach Orr.

Gill, currently a graduate-assistant coach with the Mean Green football team, received almost 2,000 write-in votes from a small but dedicated group of voters, and his total even exceeded that of a few players on the ballot, though not enough to challenge for one of the final roster spots.

An equally-devoted following boosted Orr, who will be a senior this year, to almost a thousand write-in votes.

The write-ins included players spanning the entire history of North Texas football, ranging from current members of the team like Orr, Cyril Lemon, Mason Y’Barbo, Brandin Byrd, and coach Dan McCarney all the way back to the leather-helmet days of quarterback I.B. Griffith and offensive lineman P.B. Stovall.

Among the leading write-in candidates:

Tight ends Luis Silva and James Moore

Quarterbacks Fred McCain, Ken Washington, I.B. Griffith and Andrew Smith

Running back Leo Taylor

Receivers Barry Moore and Bob Helterbran

Defensive back and kicker Bernie Barbour

Offensive lineman Steve Sullivan, Aaron Fortenberry, P.B. Stovall, Paul Draper, Ed Brantley and Glen Tucker

Coach Matt Simon

Linebackers Richard Gill, James Ivey and Johnny Matta

Return specialist Johnny Stovall

Defensive backs Ret Little, Billy Woods and Mike Shook

Defensive linemen Bob Tucker and Burkley Harkless



North Texas Mean Green