Lemon Honored By The National Football Foundation

March 25, 2015

IRVING - The National Football Foundation (NFF) Gridiron Club of Dallas Chapter announced today that former North Texas offensive lineman Cyril Lemon and eight other Texas collegiate scholar-athletes and 57 North Texas high school scholar-athletes who will be honored for their accomplishments at the club's Seventh Annual Awards Banquet April 6 at the Irving Convention Center at Las Colinas.

Lemon, who finished his North Texas career as one of the most decorated players in school history, played in 49 straight games for NT and was named all-conference four straight seasons.

"We are incredibly proud of this year's scholar-athletes," said Gerald Brence, president of the NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas Chapter and the athletics director for the Plano Independent School District. "In the seventh year of our chapter, these athletes continue to impress, not only on the field competitively but also as scholars and young community leaders. It's always an honor to meet these young men, showcasing the great stories in North Texas that will inspire future student-athletes to excel in the classroom and become more involved in their communities."

Selected from a pool of candidates that covers the entire region, the nine collegiate and 57 high school players earned NFF chapter scholar-athlete recognition in 2015. The selection committee, comprised of coaches, teachers, administrators and business leaders from North Texas, evaluated the college and high school candidates based on their athletic accomplishments, academic performance and leadership in the community.

2015 NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas Collegiate Scholar-Athletes
· Troy Baker - Baylor
· Hayden Greenbauer - SMU
· Joey Hunt - TCU
· Cyril Lemon - North Texas
· Charles Moore - Tarleton State
· Alex Shetter - East Texas Baptist
· Tre Stewart - Austin College
· Brandon Turner - Texas A&M-Commerce
· Case Winkler - Midwestern State



North Texas Mean Green