Legends Lead Voting For All-Century Team

With two weeks of voting completed and three weeks remaining, Mean Green fans have already cast more than 2,600 votes for North Texas All-Century Football Team.

The team is being named as a part of the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the start of the North Texas football program.

Mean Green fans have sent in a steady stream of completed ballots since voting began on National Signing Day, February 6. Within an hour of the online ballot going live at midnight, a ballot was cast. By the time the 2013 North Texas recruiting class began submitting their National Letters of Intent, North Texas fans had submitted more than 20 votes, and every player and coach on the ballot received votes on the first day.

Voting, which continues online and by paper ballot, closes on March 13, 2013, and the team will be announced at the Spring Football Game on April 13 at Apogee Stadium.

Not surprisingly, the leading vote-getters are some of the legendary names in North Texas football history. Joe Greene, the NFL Hall-of-Fame defensive lineman, and Abner Haynes, the AFC Rookie-of-the-Year running back, are among those leading at their respective positions.

Greene has received more votes than any other player, with more than 2,200 votes thus far. His name has been on 84 percent of ballots submitted. Haynes, meanwhile, is the leading vote-getter at both running back and return specialist.

However, the voting remains close at most positions on the team. Here is a brief overview of the voting thus far, with leaders listed alphabetically.

Quarterback - three players have separated slightly from the pack: Jordan Case, Scott Hall and Steve Ramsey, although three others remain in contention.

Running Back - the All-Century Team will have three running backs, and a group of seven are the leading contenders for those spots: Ken Bahnsen, Patrick Cobbs, Lance Dunbar, Kevin Galbreath, Abner Haynes, Bernard Jackson and Ray Renfro.

Wide Receiver - this voting for the two receivers is one of the closest position battles on the ballot. Casey Fitzgerald, John Love, Johnny Quinn, Troy Redwine and Ron Shanklin are the leaders.

Tight End - all five players on the ballot are in the hunt for this position, though Brian Waters and Mark Witte have moved ahead.

Offensive Linemen - Phillip Armour, Andy Brewster and Bill Carrico lead a group of eleven players contending for the five o-line spots.

Defensive Linemen - three of the most notable names in North Texas football history, Joe Greene, Cedric Hardman and Brandon Kennedy, are leading the way. However, Adrian Awasom, Walter Chapman, Tony Elliott and J.C. Garrett are in a tight battle for the fourth position on the d-line.

Linebacker - there are seven primary players vying for four spots: Bryon Gross, Lester Harper, Louis Haynes, Chris Hurd, Brad Kassell, Craig Robertson, Cody Spencer and Burks Washington.

Defensive Back - Charles Beatty, Bill Brashier and Jonas Buckles are among the top vote getters on the entire team. Virtually all of the remaining 10 defensive backs on the ballot are in contention for a place on the team, led by Anthony Bridges, Leonard Dunlap, Lyndon Fox, Craig Jones, Carl Lockhart, Beasley Reece and J.T. Smith.

Punter - this is shaping up as a three-way fight between John Baker, Bron Beal and Toby Gowin.

Place Kicker - Nick Bazaldua, Keith Chapman, Garrett Courtney and Iseed Khoury are the leaders.

Return Specialist - Abner Haynes, with his 28.6-yard career punt-return average, has pulled away from the field.

Coach - the top three vote getters thus far are Hayden Fry, Odus Mitchell and Darrell Dickey.

A 25-person selection panel made up of North Texas Athletics Hall of Fame members, football lettermen, sports-information personnel, and members of the media - including Joe Greene, Jordan Case, George Dunham, Bill Mercer, Dave Barnett, Ken Bahnsen, Bill Carrico, Toby Gowin, C. Dan Smith, Patrick Cobbs and Byron Gross - helped select the more than 120 players that made the ballot.

The final All-Century roster will be determined by the fan vote (which will count 50 percent toward the final decision) and by a final selection committee which includes members of the panel who selected the candidates.

The All-Century Team will be depicted on a specially-designed poster, which will be given to 2013 season ticket buyers. The poster will also be available for purchase.

For instructions on how to vote, click here for the All-Century voting page.



North Texas Mean Green