North Texas Finishes Second, Strong Named Freshman Of The Year

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. (10/27/07) On the strength of top-10 finishes by Patrick Strong and Frank Ngeno the North Texas men’s cross country team took second place at the Sun Belt Conference Championship. Strong was named the Freshman of the Year in the Sun Belt Conference after a fourth place finish in the 8k race. He ran a time of 25:25.20.


North Texas finished with 75 points as UALR took home the team championship with 53 points.


Strong and Ngeno were named to the all-conference team as Ngeno finished in ninth place with a time of 26:06.68.


Billy Giano finished in 15th with a time of 26:20.54 while Brandon Cooper ran a time of 27:04.37. Just seconds behind Cooper was Matthew Peters, who ran a time of 27:15.59 and Tayo Harriman who ran a 27:25.32. Daniel Holobowicz had a time of 27:45.58.


On the women’s side North Texas finished in sixth place while Western Kentucky took the top spot for the second straight year.


Sophomore Jessica Torres race a team-best time of 19:26.70 in the 5k race for the Mean Green. Michelle Gallegos clocked in at 19:50.28 while freshman Emily Sotelo was just four seconds behind at 19:54.40.


Sallie Anderson ran a time of 20:11.86 and Alex Sherwin finished with a time of 21:37.73. Ashley Sanders ran the 5k race in a time of 21:53.93 and Britini Dooley ran a 22:41.09.


North Texas now prepares for the South Central Regional on November 10 in Fayetteville, Ark.




North Texas Mean Green