Three North Texas Athletes Receive C-USA Scholar Athlete Awards

July 19, 2016

IRVING –Three North Texas student-athletes were named to the Conference USA Scholar Athlete awards list, the conference office announced Tuesday.

The Mean Green came away with three Scholar Athletes of the Year in cross country’s Bryce McAndrew, men’s golf’s Cory Churchman, and track & field’s Connor Bey. The three award winners ties for the most honorees at North Texas since joining the C-USA.

Bey, a senior from Celina, had a 3.94 GPA in computer science and finished sixth in the C-USA outdoor championships in the 400-meter dash. Bey also competes in the 200-meter dash, 4x100-meter relay team, 4x400-meter relay team and on the distance medley relay team. This is the third academic award of the season for Bey after being named CoSIDA Academic All-District, and named to the C-USA track & field All-Academic team.

Churchman, junior from Abilene, had a 3.67 GPA in finance, finished third on the men’s golf team with a 73.63 scoring average and finished second team All-Conference. Churchman finished tied for ninth at the C-USA championship with a three-round score of 219 (70, 77, 72). He finished the season with four top-10 finishes and fired a career-low 67 at the John Hayt Collegiate.

McAndrew, a senior from Austin, had a 3.47 GPA in biology and finished fifth in the 1500-meter run at the C-USA outdoor championships. McAndrew set a school record in the 5,000m run with a time of 14:06.07 at the Bryan Clay invitational. He also qualified for the NCAA West prelims in the 1500m run, and placed 31st.

Scholar-athletes were selected from C-USA’s full-time and affiliate institutions in 19 sports (combining indoor and outdoor track & field). Marshall led the way with four student-athletes receiving the Scholar Athlete Award, followed closely by North Texas with three representatives. Please see below for the complete list:

2015-16 C-USA Scholar Athlete Award Winners:

Baseball - Brett Lashley, Florida Atlantic, Chase Boster, Marshall
Men’s Basketball - Nick Norton, UAB
Women’s Basketball - Kendall Noble, WKU
Men’s Cross Country - Bryce McAndrew, North Texas
Women’s Cross Country - Alexandra Phares, Marshall
Football - Lee McNeil, Charlotte
Men’s Golf - Cory Churchman, North Texas
Women’s Golf - Ellinor Haag, WKU
Men’s Soccer - Jeffrey Torda, South Carolina #
Women’s Soccer - Claire Emslie, Florida Atlantic
Softball - Morgan Zerkle, Marshall
Women’s Swimming & Diving - Mackenzie Payment, Old Dominion
Men’s Tennis - Jordi Massalle Ferrer, Charlotte
Women’s Tennis - Katherine Ip, Rice
Men’s Track and Field - Connor Bey, North Texas
Women’s Track and Field - *Belle MacFarlane, Rice
Volleyball - Ally Kiekover, Marshall

* Repeat winner
# Affiliate member



North Texas Mean Green