Kedron Sowells Awarded C-USA Postgraduate Scholarship

June 20, 2016

IRVING – Senior Kendron Sowells was one of 14 recipients of the Jim Castañeda Postgraduate Scholarship awards, announced Monday by Conference USA Commissioner Judy MacLeod.   

This is the eighth year the award has been named for Dr. Castañeda, who served Rice University for 46 years as an educator, coach, and Faculty Athletics Representative before he passed away in November 2008. The conference annually awards the $4,000 Postgraduate Scholarships to graduates as selected by the C-USA Faculty Athletics Representatives and approved by the Board of Directors.

Sowells was a four-year letterwinner for the Mean Green track and field team, running sprints. A kinesiology major with a minor in allied health, Sowells earned his bachelor’s degree in May. He was a four-time President’s List and C-USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll member. The native of Lancaster, Texas, was also engaged in various community service events and was a two-time C-USA Spirit of Service winner. Sowells earned an Arthur Ashe Jr. award for community service and athleticism, also served as SAAC president at North Texas.  

Sowells has been accepted into the physical therapy doctorate program at the University of Incarnate Word.

Alexis Betancourt, Softball, Charlotte 
Robin Spiegel, Men’s Soccer, FIU
Derek Moise, Football, Florida Atlantic
Diamond Every, Women’s Track & Field, Louisiana Tech
Jack Hopkins, Men’s Soccer, Marshall
Nayara Moraes, Women’s Tennis, Middle Tennessee
Kedron Sowells, Men’s Track & Field, North Texas
Edwin Logan Teal, Men’s Swimming, Old Dominion
Solomiya Zinko, Women’s Tennis, Rice
Mary Pursell, Volleyball, Southern Miss
Elaine Simon, Women’s Tennis, UAB
Cameasha Turner, Women’s Basketball, UTEP
Kauwela Neal, Women’s Soccer, UTSA
Rachel Engle, Volleyball, WKU



North Texas Mean Green