T&F Set To Compete At NCAA West Prelims

May 29, 2014

NCAA West Preliminary Site
Meet Schedule
Live Results
Live Broadcast (free of charge; running events only)

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. - North Texas qualified 12 athletes for the NCAA West Preliminary Track and Field Meet, May 29-31 at the John McDonnell Field in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Clinton Collins leads the way for the Mean Green, seeded fourth in the 400-meter dash. Collins qualified with a school-record time of 45.76 at the Conference USA Championships, where he took first place.

Collins runs in the first of six heats of the men’s 400m beginning at 7:20 p.m. on Thursday, along with teammate Anthony Hamilton, who will run in heat five. To advance to the quarterfinals, they need to finish in the top three of their heat.

The Mean Green’s Mona Landry will kick off the meet in the third flight of the women’s long jump at 2 p.m.  On the men’s side, Clint Clarke will compete at 6:30 p.m. The top 12 will advance to NCAA Championship in Eugene, Oregon.

Distance runner Troy Taylor qualified for the men’s 1500m with time of 3:44.82 at the Longhorn Invitational. Taylor, in the first of four heats, will race at 5:30 p.m.

North Texas javelin thrower Tom Kalisky qualified with a throw of 64.02m at the UTEP Invitational. The top-16 best throws in today’s competition will advance to the finals, and from there 12 will move on to the NCAA Championships.

Chastity Stewart is seeded 11th in the women’s 400m hurdles. Her time of 58.08 led her to a conference championship earlier this month. Stewart also qualified for the 100m hurdles which take place on Friday.

In the 200m, Collin Heard is seeded fourth in his heat with his time of 20.93 at the TCU Invitational in March.

Charlotte Wilson’s record-breaking performance of 10:13.10 in the women’s 3000m steeplechase makes her a contender in heat one. Wilson placed second at the C-USA Championships with her time.

On Saturday, freshman Elisha Peters will compete in the women’s high jump.

The preliminary round of the 4X400m relay will take place at 9:30 p.m. the Mean Green team of Hamilton, Connor Bey, Caleb Pryor and Heard.



North Texas Mean Green