Athletics News

The 2000 Hall of Fame Inductees

TONY WORRELL -- A four-year letterman from 1985-88, the 6-7 forward is North Texas' No. 5 all-time leading scorer with 1,516 points. He was twice named first team All-Southland Conference and, with a conference-leading 20.2 scoring average as a senior in 1987-88, Worrell led the Eagles to Southland Conference regular-season and tournament titles and a berth in the 1988 NCAA championship tournament.

MITCH MAHER -- As quarterback for the Mean Green from 1991-94, Maher established himself as North Texas' all-time leading passer. He led UNT to the Southland Conference championship his senior season in 1994 when he led the league in passing offense (2,840 yards) and total offense (3,190 yards) and was named the SLC Offensive Player of the Year.

BILL BRASHIER -- Brashier still holds NT school records for career interceptions (19) and the 10 interceptions he made during the 1951 season. He later spent 11 years as an assistant football coach at North Texas under Rod Rust and Hayden Fry. As NT's defensive coordinator in 1978, his Mean Green unit led the NCAA in three defensive categories. Brashier went on to join Fry at the University of Iowa, where he was an assistant for 17 years.

CLARA CAMPBELL -- A 6-2 center for the Lady Eagles women's basketball team, Campbell averaged 20.4 points and 11.7 rebounds to lead North Texas to its first-ever 20-win season and the Southland Conference championship in 1985-86, earning Southland Conference Newcomer of the Year and first team all-conference honors. As a senior, Campbell again paced the Lady Eagles in scoring (15.0 ppg) and rebounding (10.0 rpg) to earn second team all-Southland Conference recognition.

DEAN RENFRO -- Dean earned three letters in football with the Eagles from 1952-54. Like older brother Ray and younger brother John, Dean Renfro was a halfback who twice led NT in rushing, gaining 700 yards on 101 carries in 1953 and running for 499 yards on 97 carries in 1954. Renfro also led the Eagles in scoring with 42 points on seven touchdowns in 1953. Renfro played professionally in the NFL (Baltimore Colts) and the Canadian Football League (Calgary Stampeders).

DENNIS WALTERS -- A four-year member of the North Texas golf team from 1968-71, Walters helped lead the Eagles to a fourth consecutive Missouri Valley Conference championship. Despite being paralyzed in a golf cart accident two years after leaving North Texas, Walters continues to be involved in golf as an inspirational speaker and host of "The Dennis Walters Golf Show."

RAY WOMACK -- Womack earned four letters in track as a specialist in the hurdle events. He captured many meet titles at the Border Olympics and Lone Star Conference Championships. After serving in the Marine Corps for three years during World War II, Womack returned to complete his college career and earn letters in 1947 and 1948. In addition to the hurdle events, Womack also competed in the mile relay, sprint relay and the 100-yard dash. He won the Lone Star Conference title as a member of the 440-yard relay his senior season.