Athletics News

The 1987 Hall of Fame Inductees

FRED COBB Was an all-American golfer at North Texas as well as at Texas Tech. Following his collegiate career, he coached the sport at North Texas, where his Eagle teams won consecutive NCAA titles from 1949-52. Under Cobb, the Eagles won 72 matches with just 10 losses and three ties.

BEULAH HARRISS In addition to founding the North Texas Green Jackets support group, she also was the school's first coach for women's intercollegiate basketball and tennis. He also helped organize the Texas Women's Athletic Association.

FRED McCAIN A three-time letterman in football as the starting quarterback on teams that advanced to the 1946 Optimist Bowl and 1947 Salad Bowl games. He was a longtime assistant football coach in the 1950s and 1960s and later served as the school's Athletic Director for five years in the 1980s.

FRANCIS STROUP He was a member of the North Texas basketball team in 1928 and 1929. Also an accomplished swimmer, he won the Texas Amateur Athletic Federation state championship in the men's junior division 10-meter diving event. He's also known for having written the school fight song.

CHARLIE TURNER He earned letters in football and basketball while at North Texas. He was a member of the 1935 football team that tied for the Lone Star Conference title and also a member of the title-winning 1936 team. He enjoyed a long coaching career on the high school level, with his teams winning 759 games over 31 years and capturing five straight state championships between 1945-49.