Athletics News

The 1995 Hall of Fame Inductees

ROY JOHNSON -- He not only was the star center on the Eagles' football team from 1937-40, but he also was the school's senior class president. He went on to become athletic director and head football coach at Bryan Air Force Base.

WALT PARKER -- He lettered twice in football and played on one Lone Star Conference championship team in 1939. He went on to become a longtime game official in the NFL and also served as athletic director and head football coach at Denton High School.

JIM EAGLE --  A four-time letter winner in football from 1946-50, he played in two post-season bowl games including the 1946 Optimist Bowl and the 1947 Salad Bowl. He was voted all-Lone Star Conference as a junior and all-Gulf Coast Conference as a senior. He was also selected as honorable mention Little All-America in 1950.

JAMES BREWER --  Earning four letters in track and three in football, Brewer was a three-time shot put champion in the Gulf Coast Conference and also named all-conference in football in 1950 and 1951. He later coached high school football for 29 years and was a member of the North Texas coaching staff from 1990-92.

JOE CONRAD -- A four-time letter winner in golf, Conrad was a member of four consecutive NCAA title teams from 1949-53. He won the Texas State Junior Championship and the Texas State Amateur Championship in 1951 and was a member of the United States' America Cup team in both 1954 and 1956. He also is a member of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame.

WELBY WILLIAMS -- He played football and ran track for the Eagles from 1938-41. He set a record in the 100-yard dash at the Border Olympics and also won a Lone Star Conference championship in the event. He also set event records in the half-mile run at the Penn Relays and the Kansas Relays in 1940 and 1941.